Yay for taxes on artificial currency?! (Gems)

in Black Lion Trading Co

Posted by: Aviate.9457

Aviate.9457

So.. I know that this only pertains to a few states but the new billing system charges taxes on gem purchases, which imo is complete BS because it’s an artificial currency that game be created out of thin air, I know that several states change to taxing online purchases through sites like Amazon.com or Newegg, but that is for actually PHYSICAL goods, not something that can be mass produced by coding, this seems very ludicrous to me. I have a feeling this may only support the gold sellers in their cause and also cause many people to just say the hell with buying gems altogether.

Opinions? Please ones that don’t thinking I’m whining and looking down their nose at me, because I’m not, but this does seem like a legitimate issue in my eyes.

in Black Lion Trading Co

Posted by: ozmaniandevil.6805

ozmaniandevil.6805

As an accountant I would have to agree with you in that you’re not buying a good. To me, it’s more like a gift card purchase, which, at least where I live, are not taxable. Maybe you can bring it up with your local political or tax office. I think it’s hard to comment other than that since states (and countries) have differing laws.

Isle of Janthir – Knights of the Rose (KoR)

in Black Lion Trading Co

Posted by: Pandemoniac.4739

Pandemoniac.4739

I bought a digital software code from Amazon and was charged tax, so I don’t think there’s a distinction between physical and digital goods. Also there is quite a bit of legalese explaining that Gems aren’t currency due to regulatory issues, so I don’t think they fall under gift card terms. Thank your government heroes for creating a system where common sense is no substitute for a law degree.

Don’t ever think you know what’s right for the other person.
He might start thinking he knows what’s right for you.
—Paul Williams

in Black Lion Trading Co

Posted by: Smooth Penguin.5294

Smooth Penguin.5294