This "Meta" has to end

This "Meta" has to end

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Leo G.4501

Leo G.4501

First introducing more randomness to combat and defense would make the game too far away from its original foundtions and while I’m not a programmer I guess that introducing additional dice rolls in the code to know if you block or not would increase latency and then weaken the dynamic aspect of combat.

Right, but the foundation of the game is extremely forgiving and adaptable. Adaptable is very good for PvP though, but being so means encounters will always be doomed to become easy just like all the currently old content.

Also, I don’t think extra dice rolls are really an issue. Computers make calculations constantly to pinpoint your location, how much damage an attack does to a target, when to display certain animations and so on. Currently, Weakness already calculates whether a normal hit will glance via a ‘dice roll’.

Second, the potency stat is a very dangerous one that would then strike the build diversity by locking skills to gear.

That is sort of the point, though.

The approach is, just like offensive skills are tied to offensive stats, so too are defensive skills tied to defensive stats. But then the approach is also meant to step away from defensive stats largely affecting passive defense. Instead, it’s meant to bolster active defense.

Just a quick example : I am a turret engi defensively geared with no potency, I make my turrets explode in fire fields and get kicked immediately because I stacked weak might on my allies instead of letting the potency guy explode in the field.
I’m quite sure that at least these two suggestions wouldn’t bring anything good to the game and the community.