ANET: Suggestions From A 20-Year PvPer...

in PvP

Posted by: Syric.1936

Syric.1936

Anet, I don’t know where else I can post this, and originally wanted to e-mail it, so I’m posting it here. It is my highest hope that this post reaches someone that cares as much as I do, and that the “powers that be” will give my suggestions sincere consideration; I’ve a passion to see GW2 be at its best – just as much as they do. That said, my suggestions are below, but I preferenced it with some background on me to better understand where my passion for PvP comes from…

Respectfully, I’ve been PvPing my heart out since 1995 (ish). My earliest memory of PvP dates back to when AOL unleashed a game called Magestorm, which was created by Mythic Entertainment. That game would set the stage and redefine what it meant to play video games for me. My days playing on my SNES, Genesis, etc. quickly became a thing of the past – I wanted more and couldn’t seem to get enough: this was the game of choice for me.

Fast forward years later, Guild Wars comes out, and I missed the initial release of it because I was still caught up in DAOC and WoW. Those were the “giants” of 2000-2006, but eventually my ever burning desire for PvP gaming lead me to try GW out. Now here was a game changer! Unlike DAOC and WoW, Guild Wars brought something so unique, diverse, and special to the table – I was hooked, and it didn’t take long to bid farewell to DAOC and WoW.

Guild Wars was a great time – and every expansion brought new wonder, splendor, and something beautiful for us to enjoy. The artistry – OMG WOW! AMAZING! BREATH-TAKING! (Thank you, to this day, for keeping that game alive!). PvP thrived on with new skill combinations and new classes (god, I miss the Rituatlist and Dervish!) Life was good. But, like with all things, it came to a semi-end w/ GW2 coming into existence, and GW2 was the future of where things were heading – like it or not.