The "Queue Bug", a theory as to the cause

in WvW

Posted by: GottFaust.5297

GottFaust.5297

As a mathematician, I think the key mistake you are making Mr. GottFaust is not understanding the difference between a conjecture and a theorem. The title of this topic is “The real reasons for the queue bug;” however, you present speculation not proof. If the title were “A theory on the queue bug” I am certain that people here would be more receptive to your ideas.

This is a very valid point. I have made the suggested change. As an engineer, I am very literal-minded. Given the fact that no one can prove, beyond a shadow of doubt, that their theory is more than based on observation until a definitive answer is given from A-Net, I assumed the fact that this is a theory would be obvious, and that the old title would be fine.

Sadly, this is the exact reason why many software engineers are horrible at what they do. I have experienced it first hand in both the public and private sectors. The truth is that designing software well requires a different mindset than the classic engineer stereotype. Of course, some of this is only relevant to the type of software you typically design because the classic mindset does work well enough in some cases.

Anyways, I am a subject matter expert as well and I disagree both with your theories and your reasoning behind them.

I’ll ignore what could be construed as a thinly veiled personal attack in this post, and assume it was meant as a commentary on the industry as a whole.

Care to elaborate as to why you disagree? Dissenting opinions with nothing to back them may well not be posted.

Iron Bound [IB] – Gates of Madness

in WvW

Posted by: covenn.7165

covenn.7165

Unfortunately you are ignoring many of the symptoms because you are stuck on your theory. I would suggest taking a step back and taking a look at the symptoms again. Simply put, you are ignoring a large part of the information and not adjusting your theory to compensate for it.