Opinions: S/P or S/D or D/P?

in Thief

Posted by: Bigpapasmurf.5623

Bigpapasmurf.5623

Q:

I am kind of new to Daredevil. Kind of in the sense that 2+ years ago I leveled one to 80 and stopped to work on other toons. About a month ago I obtained and started using daredevil. I’m not a fan of SB but I always loved P/P as a ranged option. I run part valk/zerker/marauders. I am having issues deciding between Sword Pistol or Sword Dagger.

One note, I am using all stealth utilities so the added stealth from dagger 5 would synergize well and still help with stealth stomps and the evade on sword 3 would help. Cripple on 4 can be useful. On the other hand, Pistol-whip is awesome (but a bit slow to warm up imo..) and a quick interrupt on pistol 4. I use the pistol 5 for safe stomp or if i’m fighting npc’s to stand on top of.

Essentially it boils down to the 3/4/5 skills…evade vs stun (or daze…whatever), ranged cripple vs ranged daze and stealth vs blind (I obv dont blast the field)

Things to note:

Most of my init typically goes to the typical P/P unload and the stealth pistol auto attack (one reason I love stealth…init free unload w/ bleed).

I try to stealth as often I can to position myself for my auto attack on pistol

Typically use pistols when ranged, sword when not, but either im not good at landing pistol whip or it can be easily dodged (aside from when someone is ressing, free pistolwhip hits, so it only helps when I shadow step then use it or when I catch someone ressing)

I believe the cripple will help better when chasing someone at the cost of an interrupt (when I can time it right)

That field tho on #5 saved me from being interrupted when stomping, but that stealth to get another pistol auto is brutal.

This is my dilemma and reasoning. I run SA/TR/DD. What are your opinions? (I also run this in WvW and sort of in PvP but with a different stat set as I cant combine stats like I can in WvW)

I appreciate any positive feedback.