From hotjoin to unranked, when?

in PvP

Posted by: Maxwell.7843

Maxwell.7843

Hello. I started playing PvP rather recently (a month or so), and I think I’ve gotten to the point where I’m of some use to the team.

It was explained to me that hotjoin it not an accurate representation of the “traditional” PvP experience, and apart from getting my feet wet it was not going to teach me that much about the correct way conquest is played.

How did you decide it was time to take this step? Any tips?

in PvP

Posted by: SobeSoul.6910

SobeSoul.6910

Go for it.

I honestly went from roaming in wvw to the old ranked solo queue straight away with only a little adjusting to conquest mode needed. I actually watched quite a few streams so I knew the maps. As long as you know map mechanics than unranked is good.

in PvP

Posted by: Mister Fluffkin.7358

Mister Fluffkin.7358

Imo, its time to play unranked when you´re familar with your character/build/spec. Hotjoin is like getting used to your spec, its not about winning the match/competetice evironment(see 4on5´s, winning team joiners, etc. etc.). If you want win orientated gameplay/improve your gameplay, go unranked. Theres no other place to do.

Just do your best to win the match/understand the gameplay, and everyone should be fine with you. If you´re not even used ro your spec, better go hotjoin. You won´t help your team if your skillbar is taking all your attention.

in PvP

Posted by: Silentshoes.1805

Silentshoes.1805

Just be aware that unranked has lots of bad match ups where your inexperienced team will face coordinated teams that will often crush your team. Try to observe and learn how they do it.

The Alien (condi necro),That Wreckin Crew (Mesmer)
Silentshoes (Thief), Wind of the Woods (condi ranger)

in PvP

Posted by: SobeSoul.6910

SobeSoul.6910